∆Artist Spotlight with Joey James Band∆

I absolutely love discovering new talent in music, its one of the main reasons that I started to write!!

So when I found the Joey James Band I was super excited to interview him! He’s definitely one to watch for!! I don’t know who you could find that fits into Country Music than Joey, from his sound to his pride!! He’s the real deal!!

This week I got to interview Joey and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!!

PS I love his answer to question 10!!!

Q1. What made you want to get into music?
At a young age I started writing poetry and right away felt like I had a knack to bringing emotions onto a piece of paper. In my teen years I started to write my first lyrics and I watched as people reacted to my words. It amazed me that my words could move human emotions. During my time in the military I grew into my own and met others from different parts of the country. This made me grow as a writer. My love and passion to sing and perform grew with every lyric I wrote. So what got me into music is really the fact that I have so much to say and contribute to the world.

Q2. Who are your biggest musical influences?
I am a huge fan of Garth Brooks, I have always liked the way he interacted with his fans and he has performed his shows the right way, he brought in great songwriters and gave country music the spark it needed that I truly believe makes me the artist I want to be. I have a great understanding that my fans are who make me and I am blessed.

Q3. What is one song out today that you wish you had wrote?
The Dance is one of those songs that will outlive every generation and so really that is the one song I wish I could have been a part of. Other then, that I am very passionate about the words that I put down on paper and cannot wait for a bigger opportunity to share my words.

Q4. How do you get inspiration for new music?
It sounds so collage but honestly I get a lot of inspiration by everyday living. My lyrics are true and I love speaking to folks and getting several ideas from them. I mean some of my songs start off with a quote someone says!

Q5. What is the worst advice someone gave you about music?
The worst advice anyone has given me is how easy it could be to make it in the industry because of my songwriting. It’s a tough business to crack. Making it also has derived a different meaning for me then when I first started this journey. I now look at using my music to help others and if the Lord blesses me enough to make the national stage then I will feel I have made it.

Q6. How long have you been making music?
Professionally I have been on stage for a little over 7 years and I Iove every minute of it. The stage brings me so much joy!

Q7. What is one thing that you can’t live without?
My daughter, my girlfriend of 4 years, my two dogs, good friends, and God, not always in that order lol!

Q8. What is your ideal vacation?
I grew up in the sticks , in a tiny little town in Oregon. My vacation is a cabin in the woods, fishing, exploring and enjoying my loved ones company!

Q9. If you could have any super power what would it be?
I love this question! I would really like to read a persons mind, to feel a persons thoughts would definitely give me an understanding of what that person has gone through.

Q10. If someone made a movie about your life, who would you want to play you?
Hmmm, who can grow a bad ass beard in Hollywood? I guess Russel Crow could do me the honors, I don’t think I have ever seen a bad movie of his. No Australian accent though, could he pull off my little drawl?

Q11. When you’re out with friends what are you normally drinking?
Well it has been a curse on me since my metabolism decided to slow down a couple years back. I love beer, almost any kind of beer. I am also a fan of Whiskey, my Grandpa’s favorite drink was Black Velvet and Sprite, so these days that’s kind of my go to drink!

Q12. What are your plans for 2016?
We are looking to record this killer EP, I am hopeful that I can have it released in the summer time! We are also looking to make some moves into the national spotlight after an investor comes through for us. Maybe even trying to get Saving Soldiers Tour off the ground, my brain child to help our veterans in need. Growing my fan support is also a continuous goal.

Thank you for your support and for helping artists like me get exposure.

image

 
Follow Joey:
Twitter: @joeyjamesband
The Joey James Band Fan Page
JoeyJames.net
Joey James

Xoxo,
Holland

Leave a Reply

